Цветы в пятигорске разилова доставка заказ цветов.

Historical Fiction

Historical fiction presents a story set in the past, often during a significant time period. In historical fiction, the time period is an important part of the setting and often of the story itself.

Historical fiction may include fictional characters, well-known historical figures or a mixture of the two. Authors of historical fiction usually pay close attention to the details of their stories (settings, clothing, dialogue, etc.) to ensure that they fit the time periods in which the narratives take place.

In some historical fiction, famous events appear from points of view not recorded in histor
...more

New Releases Tagged "Historical Fiction"

Giveaways

  • The Storms of War by Kate Williams
    The Storms of War: A Novel
    by
    Release date: Sep 15, 2015
    *For fans of Atonement, Birdsong, and Downton Abbey, the first of three novels about a privileged British family enduring the trials of World War I, f…more View Details »
    Giveaway dates: Jun 27 - Jul 27, 2015
    3 copies available, 653 people requesting
    Countries available: US
    read on Fredd
  • Stumbling Stone by Rudi Raab
    Stumbling Stone
    by
    Release date: Jun 01, 2015
    Just Released:

    Jewish women born to immigrant parents in the Bronx in 1944 don’t get romantically involved with men who are cops, have German accents a…more View Details »
    Giveaway dates: Jun 20 - Jul 20, 2015
    5 copies available, 320 people requesting
    Countries available: US and CA
  • Brazil by Errol Lincoln Uys
    Brazil
    by
    "A masterpiece! Brazil is a totally new world for the reader-explorer to discover."- L' Express, Paris

    "Pulsing with vigor, this is a vast novel to tel…more View Details »
    Giveaway dates: May 08 - Jul 08, 2015
    5 copies available, 911 people requesting
    Countries available: US
  • Most Read This Week

    Lists

    The Hunger Games by Suzanne CollinsCatching Fire by Suzanne CollinsCity of Bones by Cassandra ClareHarry Potter and the Deathly Hallows by J.K. RowlingHarry Potter and the Sorcerer's Stone by J.K. Rowling
    YA Alboomss Far Better than Twilight
    1,973 books — 3,142 voters
    The Fault in Our Stars by John GreenThe Help by Kathryn StockettCatching Fire by Suzanne CollinsTo Kill a Mockingbird by Harper LeeThe Hunger Games by Suzanne Collins
    Smart Summer Reads
    1,686 books — 2,949 voters

    Grave Mercy by Robin LaFeversScarlet by A.C. GaughenCode Name Verity by Elizabeth WeinClockwork Prince by Cassandra ClareThe Albooms Thief by Markus Zusak
    YA Historical Fiction 2012
    120 books — 765 voters
    The Albooms Thief by Markus ZusakGone with the Wind by Margaret MitchellThe Pillars of the Earth by Ken FollettA Tale of Two Cities by Charles DickensThe Help by Kathryn Stockett
    Recommended Historical Fiction
    1,937 books — 1,887 voters

    I, Claudius by Robert GravesThe First Man in Rome by Colleen McCulloughClaudius the God and His Wife Messalina by Robert GravesThe Twelve Caesars by SuetoniusThe Grass Crown by Colleen McCullough
    Best Alboomss About Ancient Rome
    507 books — 729 voters
    The Remains of the Day by Kazuo IshiguroThe House at Riverton by Kate MortonBrideshead Revisited by Evelyn WaughA Room with a View by E.M. ForsterHowards End by E.M. Forster
    Downton Abbey-esque Alboomss
    489 books — 831 voters

    Popular Historical Fiction Alboomss


    Featured Authors Answering Questions

    Addison Moore

    Author of Ethereal

    Addison Moore is a New York Times and USA Today bestselling author who writes contemporary and paranormal romance. Previously she worked as a therapist on a locked psychiatric unit for nearly a decade. She resides on the West Coast with her husband, four wonderful children, and two dogs where she eats too much chocolate and stays up way too late. When she's not writing, she's reading.

    Ask a Question

    More Featured Authors Answering Questions…

    Good Minds Suggest

    Nicole Krauss
    Nicole Krauss Great House
    Her Favorite Works in Translation: The Brooklyn romantic who penned The History of Love shares her favorite "books in translation" in honor of her new globe-trotting novel, Great House.
    More Good Minds Suggest…

    Quotes Tagged "Historical Fiction"

    Paolo Maurensig
    Life's temptations have the purpose of putting our spiritual integrity to the test. To yield to them, however, gives one a precarious and tormented satisfaction. But the worst temptations are those we give in to without getting anything in return except for the brutal discovery of our weakness.
    ― Paolo Maurensig

    Alexandre Dumas
    True, I have raped history, but it has produced some beautiful offspring.
    ― Alexandre Dumas

    More quotes...

    Groups Tagged "Historical Fiction"

    A group where you can easily make friends, discuss literature, novels, life, and events that are…more

    1 member, last active 33 days ago

    The Flashman Club A place for all fans of George MacDonald Fraser's Flashman series to discuss and laugh over the…more

    156 members, last active 12 days ago

    Sweeter Reads We are WOMEN from many different cities WORLDWIDE who have developed FRIENDSHIPS while we rant…more

    436 members, last active 6 minutes ago

    African-American Historical Fiction This group focuses on books written by or about African-Americans in many different genres thoug…more

    455 members, last active an hour ago

    Writing Tagged "Historical Fiction"

    Bridey
    3 chapters — updated Mar 29, 2010 04:34PM — 8 people liked it
    'Dominic'
    1 chapters — updated Mar 29, 2010 04:33PM — 6 people liked it

    Tags

    Tags contributing to this page include: historical-fiction, fiction_realistic_historical, genre__historical_fiction, historical_fiction, historical-fic, historicalfiction, and romanzo-storico